Sign in to follow this  
Guest Jamie Whiting

LGKO Performance Discovery

Guest Jamie Whiting

Dear All,

I have noticed that there have been concerns raised around the performance of Kos, and I have also had issues myself. I have been getting better frame rates at Aerosoft's Heathrow than at Kos, and that airport is known to be one of the most difficult areas of the world of P3D for performance.

Being confused as to why this was the case, I went about trying to discover what was going on. As a bit of background I am a amateur scenery developer, and have released a P3D V4 version of Paphos so I look at things a bit differently scenery wise to most users.

I tried disabling various BGLs etc but nothing made a significant difference, but then I made a discovery which virtually eliminated my performance issues:

•  In the P3D lighting menu I unchecked the receive shadows box for "Simulation Objects"

-The Good-

I now have frame rates of between 30-60 fps even in the FSLabs Airbus, regardless of what direction I am facing or whether I am on or off the runway etc. Before I was struggling to get 25 frames at most.

-The Bad-

The only side effect is that my aircraft no longer casts a shadow on the ground at Kos. Kos is not the only addon airport that needs this checkbox enabled for shadows to be seen [UK2000 Gatwick does for example].

-The Theory-

Why is Kos so badly effected by this setting compared to other airports? I have a theory, and it is only a theory, that Kos has shadow flags set on too many material layers for the ground polygons. This would cause a request for un-needed shadow draw calls which would effect performance. I could be talking nonsense but it makes sense in terms of the performance gain I have got out of it.

Kos is a really beautiful scenery and really captures the spirit of the Island, so hopefully this may be useful to people, and perhaps the Developers can see if there is and fact to my theory...

Kind Regards

Jamie Whiting

Hello Jamie,